Planning & Community Development

Jada C. Black, Zoning Administrator

Director of Planning and Zoning
Subdivision Agent
Clerk to the Planning Commission and Board of Zoning Appeals
Erosion and Sediment Control Administrator

Phone: 276-773-2000
Fax: 276-773-3673

The Planning and Community Development Department regulates planning, zoning, floodplain, erosion and sediment control within the unincorporated jurisdictions of Grayson County. This department intends to promote the public’s health, safety, and general welfare and implement the adopted Comprehensive Plan for the orderly and controlled development of the County.

Land development, such as subdivision and site plans, is reviewed in conformance with the Grayson County Zoning Ordinance and Subdivision Ordinance. Site plans, subdivision plans, rezoning, and special use permit requests are coordinated with staff for further evaluation and review by the Planning Commission and the Board of Supervisors. 

Should you have questions regarding planning, zoning, floodplain, and erosion and sediment control, please contact the Planning and Commuity Developement Department at 276-773-2000.

To determine the Zoning District of your property, please use the Grayson County GIS at After determining the Zoning District of the property, the user can determine what specific uses are allowed in the district by referencing the allowed uses and requirements of the  Grayson County Zoning Ordinance.


Board of Zoning Appeals

 Pursuant to Code of Virginia Article 7, Chapter 22, Title 15.2, the Grayson County Board of Zoning Appeals was established. The Board of Zoning Appeals consists of seven members with staggered term limits. Such powers and duties include:

hear and decide appeals from any order, requirement, decision or determination made by an administrative officer in carrying out the administration or enforcement of the Ordinance;

Hear and act upon an application for variance in accordance with the Zoning Ordinance; to alleviate hardships by virtue of the inability of the landowner to comply with the provisions of this Ordinance by reason of unique shape, topography, or physical features of the lot;

Hear and decide appeals from the decision of the Zoning Administrator;
Hear and decide applications for interpretation of the district map where there is any uncertainty as to the location of a district boundary;
Within its budget appropriation and other funds at its disposal, enter into contracts for such services as it may require.

 The Grayson County Board of Zoning Appeals meets the 3rd Thursday of each month as needed at 5:00 p.m. in the Grayson County Board Room. Contact us to confirm a meeting.





Trimble Sarah Elk Creek 2/8/2024 – 12/31/2028




7/9/2019- 3/31/2024



Elk Creek

1/1/2019 – 12/31/2023


Sherian,  Vice Chair


3/10/2016 – 3/31/2026



Old Town

1/1/2013 – 12/31/2027



Old Town

1/9/2014 – 3/31/2024


Davis, Chair


5/10/2018 – 3/11/2027

Planning Commission

Pursuant to Code of Virginia Article 2, Chapter 22, Title 15.2, the Grayson County Planning Commission was established. The Grayson County Planning Commission consists of nine members with staggered term limits and serves primarily as an advisory capacity to the Grayson County Board of Supervisors.   Such powers and duties include:

 Development of policy and ordinances, including the Zoning Ordinance, Subdivision Ordinance, and the County Comprehensive Plan. Proper review and advisement about proposed Subdivisions, Zone Amendments, Zone District Amendments and Changes, Special Use Permits, Applications for Rezone, Recommendations for Conservation Easements, and other tasks deemed necessary concerning official land-use policy.

The Grayson County Planning Commission meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the Grayson County Board Room. At times there is no business to be heard the Commission may not meet. Contact us to confirm a meeting.

Member                                           District                  Term

Brian Walls, Chair Wilson 01/1/2022 – 12/31/2025
Dan Boyer, Vice Chair Old Town 01/1/2022 – 12/31/2025
Gary Ballard Old Town 01/1/2020 – 12/31/2027
Justin  Funk Providence 10/12/2023 – 12/31/2026
Jones Travis Elk Creek 01/11/2024 – 12/31/2027
Lisa Hash Wilson 01/1/2022 – 12/31/2025
Charlie Ward Elk Creek 01/1/2017 – 12/31/2024
Howard Sharpe, Jr.  At- Large 2/8/2024 – 12/31/2027
Phillip Vaughan Providence 08/12/2021 – 08/11/2025

Renewable Energy Draft Policy and Regulations